Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Who's Who - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 04-21-2019, 06:36 PM
Copper

Default gun builder new to engraving

Hi all, I am new to engraving and have always wanted to learn how. Recently I made the plunge to find out how. Why I did this stemmed from a flintlock build that I just finished. A left hand jeager that turned out real nice. Somehow the gun just does not seem finished without some engraving. My tool and die background set me on a research path that led me to seek out a mentor who could set me on the right path of how and why. I contacted Carl Bleile in Cincinnati ohio as a mentor / professor. We set a time for two 8 hour days. I showed up and jumped right into the deep end with carl at my side. The following pictures speak for themselves. The first picture is as I started with carl barely able to cut a straight line. The second day and 16 hours later I completed the finished piece in roughly an hour. Hard for me to believe!

The following letter is a thank you that I recently sent to Carl. It os as follows: